

24 November 2021

DIPALESENG LOCAL MUNICIPALITY'S NEW POLITICAL LEADERSHIP

Dipaleseng Local Municipality has new political leadership which was sworn in at the Inauguration held at the Council Chamber on Tuesday, 23rd November 2021.

The sitting was graced by amongst others representatives from Provincial Department of Cooperative Governance & Traditional Affairs, the local Audit Committee with the Balfour Magistrate, Mr. Moldenhauer officiating the oath taking of councilors.

Cllr. Khethiwe Moeketsi has been elected as the new Executive Mayor; Cllr. Xolani Shozi is the Speaker of Council, while the Chief Whip position is occupied by Cllr. Tryphina Shabalala and the MPAC Chairperson is Cllr. Kent Nyamade. The Executive Mayor was also elected as the Council's representative to the Gert Sibande District Municipality.

The Ward councilors for this new term are as follows;

Ward 1 - Cllr. Xolani Shozi

Ward 2 - Cllr. Deon Makhoba

Ward 3 - Cllr. Ahmed-Nazir Carrim

Ward 4 – Cllr. Mojalefa Miya

Ward 5 - Cllr. Kent Nyamade

Ward 6 – Cllr. Tryphinah Shabalala

PR councilors are;

The African National Congress representatives are Cllr. Khethiwe Moeketsi and Cllr.

Zakhele Maya.

Cllr. Sbongile Nhlapho and Cllr. Koos Dladla both are representing the Economic

Freedom Fighters.

The Democratic Alliance is represented by Cllr. Refiloe Matakane and Cllr. Karel

Pienaar is the Freedom Front representative.

The municipality congratulates and welcomes the new leadership on board and looks

forward to a fruitful relationship of servicing and bettering the lives of the community.

-Ends –

MR B KHANYE ACTING MUNICIPAL MANAGER

Tel: 017 004 0027

Facebook: Dipaleseng Local Municipality Website: www.dipaleseng.gov.za